GitHub

4,8 (4.909)
Platform voor sociale codering en samenwerkende ontwikkeling

Totaalscore

4,8 /5
(4.909)
Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
4,6/5
Functies
4,7/5
Gebruiksgemak
4,4/5
Klantenondersteuning
4,4/5

98%
heeft deze app aanbevolen
Sorteren op

4909 reviews

Mario Humberto
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Maandelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

Otima plataforma de desenvolvimento colaborativo de projetos de softwares

Beoordeeld op 29/6/2022

utilizei muito em projetos na industria e no comercio nas empresas que colaborei em desenvolvimento de software aplicativos para desktop e crm e pdv e assim como a criação de consultas de repositorios e correçoes para sbgd em relatorios das industrias e volumes de vendas e mercadorias do grupo acessos de gestores na sede da empresa e otima a comunidade colaborativa de desenvolvimento.

Pluspunten

Facil de usar podemos navegar pela plataforma e consultar editar e baixar os codigos fonte do projeto personalizar a sua necesidade e colaborar na plataforma para melhorar outros projetos e salvar na sua conta ou usar os comandos do git( clone, add, commit, push) podemos consultar e colaborar dentro da plataforma de desenvolvimento de sotwares.

Minpunten

muito bom poderia ter a plataforma em portugues e preço da mensalidade da plataforma para empresas e otimo. utilizo sempre que estou alocado em algum projeto de desenvolvimento.

Overwogen alternatieven

GitLab

Redenen om over te stappen op GitHub

e muito facil de utilizar porem precisa ter conhecimento de programação, assim que conhece a programação e facil interagir na comunidade colaborativa, tem fontes e repositorios, que ja sao corrigidas e atualizadas com push e manten o controle das versões, na sua biblioteca e otima opção para trabalhar com varios desenvolvedores, trocar ideas no brainstroms e aplicar as correçoes no repositorio do seu codigo fonte do deu repositorio.
Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Internet
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Best source control system ever

Beoordeeld op 29/6/2022

It always sent clear messages to help myself find myself at the development, no matter the stage it is. It always provided simple and safe tools to helpe me whenever I needed. In general I am very satisfied with the tool. Nowadays I do not pay for any use, for I do not ned it, but I will gladely pay again when the time cames.

Pluspunten

In addition to being one of the first platforms of its kind and a great choice for software project management, github went further and became a true developer network, the first one I guess. Many companies hire exclusively considering the particular repository of each developer what mekes the employees even more eggor to lear the environment.

Minpunten

Not much but yet a little above the price if compared to other rivals.

Overwogen alternatieven

GitLab

Redenen om voor GitHub te kiezen

Between others git was developed by Linus Torvalds, a code versioning tool by developers to developers and it led us to use git, from there we needed something remote, something easy to use and them we ended up using git, the most popular of that time (and probably yet the most popular)

Overgestapt van

Apache Subversion

Redenen om over te stappen op GitHub

It was the most popular of that time (and probably yet the most popular)
Mohammed
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computer- en netwerkbeveiliging
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: Zelfstandig ondernemer
  • Dagelijks Gratis proef lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 4.0 /10

Mi2020 reviews

Beoordeeld op 15/7/2022

Pluspunten

How it can be use to solve tickets and I like how easy it is to use

Minpunten

I will like you guys to improve the internet connection in speeding the connection faster then expected

Santosh
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Automotive
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 10.000+ werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Excellent Developer Tool - GitHub

Beoordeeld op 13/5/2022

- The overall experience with GitHub is excellent and very satisfactory. The tool has many good features provided OOB for many customers to get go from the initial setup itself.

Pluspunten

- The most important feature that we use at a very critical phase is the version control, creating pull requests for the developers to review the code base continuously, for continuous integration and continuous deployments for merging code and deploying code to production
- The tool is very easy to use and navigate without any prior experience
- The tool has very good support team to resolve any issues in the process
- The tool is very widely used by enterprise companies in the market to manage the code base

Minpunten

- The pricing could be more reasonable as compared to the other tools in the market
- The UI can be more intuitive for the users to work with
- The tool can include more features in the tool that could be used by many customers instead of building custom API's and having issues in the workflows.

Overwogen alternatieven

Bitbucket

Redenen om over te stappen op GitHub

- The pricing was less when compared to the other tool we choose. It did not had other integrations we are looking for.
Tiffany
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Gezondheid, wellness en fitness
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Our Company Loves GitHub!

Beoordeeld op 23/6/2022

Great experience with GitHub.

Pluspunten

Our entire company uses GitHub to some capacity and it has been great. In terms of product management, it keeps everyone in sync and organized even across teams. We love the ability to be able to customize the software to our liking. It's extremely easy to use.

Minpunten

Because our company uses it for both product management and development, certain boards can get overwhelming. Overall, I don't have many negative things to say about this software.

Harshal
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Wekelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 8.0 /10

Best Source Code Management tool for internet based collaboration

Beoordeeld op 7/7/2022

It may be a bit difficult to get around it in the beginning, especially if you shift from traditional Code Versioning Systems. Once you get around how it works, its quick and easy.

Pluspunten

The best thing is that its internet based and unlike VSS you don't have to set it up rigorously for your organisation. Almost all IDEs provide quick and seamless collaboration with this.

Minpunten

Since its completely internet based, I am not too sure about its security. While the entire world is moving to cloud, I believe some parts of intellectual property should still stay inside the boundaries like either on intranet or at max VPN protected extranet.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Informatietechnologie en -diensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 10.000+ werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

Github - Central point for your code

Beoordeeld op 28/6/2022

A Good experience, github has not only provided with storage for codes but also a platform bringing development collaboration, intergeration with pipelines and a good developer community for different issues.

Pluspunten

1. Provides good Version Control features
2. Easy of use
3. Collaboration between Teams
4. Good Integration support

Minpunten

1. No Support on mobile devices
2. Require working knowledge before usage
3. Complex UI , can be more intuitive

Overwogen alternatieven

GitLab en Bitbucket

Redenen om over te stappen op GitHub

1. Market leader for repository 2. Good Technical Discussion communities 3. Availability of various open source codes with GitHub
Yunuen
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Telecommunicatie
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 5.001-10.000 werknemers
  • Wekelijks 6-12 maanden lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 8.0 /10

Apoyo para el desarrollo de software

Beoordeeld op 18/7/2022

Me gusta mucho esta plataforma ya que cuenta con funciones interesantes y muy completas.

Pluspunten

Me gusta que es un software bastante completo te ayuda a dar seguimiento a los errores y además brinda resolución de problemas.Es una herramienta gratuita y fácil de usar que admite archivos de rebaja lo cual es importante para fines de documentación.

Minpunten

Que solamente se pueda implementar un sitio estático a través de la instalación de Github.io.

Overwogen alternatieven

Google Docs

Redenen om over te stappen op GitHub

Porque tiene una plataforma más atractiva y funcional.
Raj
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Informatietechnologie en -diensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 5.001-10.000 werknemers
  • Wekelijks 1+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

GitHub Software Developer review

Beoordeeld op 22/6/2022

Recommended software to maintain version control

Pluspunten

Ability to collaborate and work on the source code and maintain the track of branches and bugs

Minpunten

The analytics features provided can be improved

Overwogen alternatieven

GitLab

Redenen om over te stappen op GitHub

The wide community of GitHub and its ease of integration of it into the Microsoft platform
Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Informatietechnologie en -diensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 501-1.000 werknemers
  • Wekelijks 1+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 8.0 /10

Smoothest experience using github

Beoordeeld op 3/7/2022

Using github my code management process is much simplified and i can focus more on development

Pluspunten

Github provides plethora of features which is very helpful for managing our code bases

Minpunten

I do not have any dislike with this software

Meraz
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Informatietechnologie en -diensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 10.000+ werknemers
  • Maandelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

Must have for all Development Endevours

Beoordeeld op 27/5/2022

It is a safe, scalable, and trustworthy technology that can successfully handle the version control of any program, making it appropriate for a wide variety of code. GitHub is equipped with a comprehensive set of features and safety precautions. We have aggressively elucidated a lot on the manner that standard getting resources are not really helpful when trying to find a solid engineer. Top designers don't hunt effectively for new opportunities and don't use regular work sheets or LinkedIn. It is recommended that you search in certain locations for high-end technological expertise. How exactly does one go about locating a designer in this day and age? On the stages where the IT people group gathers to collaborate, exchange coding techniques, and learn from one another, you will find programming engineers.

Pluspunten

Setting up and getting started with Github is quite simple. When you begin a new repository, you will be guided through the process of effortlessly adding your source code from your computer to your repository using a few simple instructions. It also has a large number of other capabilities, such as task management, problem management, interaction with DevOps for deployment, static hosting of websites, and a great deal of more functionality. Additionally, it has a high level of extendability and enables you to integrate a large number of market-sourced components. You have the option of keeping your source code private or making it available to the public.

Minpunten

Some time for me Because GitHub was developed without a simple user interface, verifying even the smallest and easiest things, such as a date, requires you to hover over another date in order to give you the exact hour and time of a commit per se. Because of things like these, using GitHub may be challenging for those who are just starting out with the program, but it becomes easier the more you work with it.

Overwogen alternatieven

Bitbucket

Redenen om over te stappen op GitHub

Bitbucket is too expensive.
Ava
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Draadloos
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 10.000+ werknemers
  • Dagelijks 6-12 maanden lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

Powerful tool for developers and to be able to carry out a wide variety of projects as a team.

Beoordeeld op 30/5/2022

It has been a great step for the development of my personal and commercial projects, because I can work hand in hand with my colleagues, being able to carry out projects from scratch either in private or public repositories, assigning tasks, being able to follow them, exchange ideas and even solve problems in the code in a short period of time. In addition, when working together with other colleagues, it is much easier to complete projects on time and deliver successful projects.

Pluspunten

There are several aspects that I like about GitHub as a software developer, having this high potential tool at hand makes it much easier to carry out projects of great value, since in one place it is possible to carry out the entire process necessary for a clean code.I like that it allows to be able to manage in a more reasonable way the time of development of versions and the time that is needed for the review of the code, because by being able to allow access to whoever you want to be able to solve any problem in the code, it makes it easier for them to solved in the shortest possible time. Not only does it guarantee a clean code but it also allows synchronizing the development of the code, that is, different tasks can be assigned to several members so that the progress of the project is rapid. A valuable feature of this tool is that it makes it possible to get the original code and even make changes without having to worry that the other team members will not have the updated version, this saves time and avoids overwriting the code which can be a great benefit error. In addition, assigning tasks allows the project to be much more fluid and that the workflow does not fall on a single person and the best thing is that it is simple to track progress. For example, assigning tasks gives me and my team to have better coordination and be able to advance in each task quickly.

Minpunten

GitHub is an ideal tool for developers and programmers and even students since it allows you to work in private or public repositories, being able to interact with other developers, however, before being able to use each of its functions smoothly, you need time to fully understand it said software, this is because its learning curve can be somewhat high and more so if you are a beginner.

Fábio
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computer- en netwerkbeveiliging
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 501-1.000 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

GitHub for devs and for security reviews

Beoordeeld op 25/4/2022

Overall, GitHub offers all main features of git in a user friendly website.
Everything can be done through the interface, including creating your own static site.

Pluspunten

GitHub is the most well known git implementation.
For security reviews, GitHub offers many solid information regarding source code commits. It is easy to search for a new source code change on both command line and GUI, making it easier to detect new changes and potential vulnerable code.
It also is easy to understand what was changed to the source code after a security fix, allowing for easy comprehension of the implementation.

Minpunten

Since it is an implementation of git, the learning curve of more complex commands and features is very steep.
The average user will only use the basic features (like git clone, which downloads a copy of the repository to the local machine, or git pull/git commit, which will publish the changes to the remote repository), but when trying to use the more complex features (like merging, purging code, reverting a state) it can be time consuming to learn.

Tsitsi Hazel
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Informatietechnologie en -diensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 1+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

GitHub Collaboration Review

Beoordeeld op 4/4/2022

It is a secure, scalable and reliable tool used to effectively manage version-control of any software, ideal for various types of code. GitHub has a wide range of capabilities and security measures.

Pluspunten

Users can manage their time more efficiently by doing code versioning and code review.

Multiple developers can stay in sync with each other and can develop their software products in collaboration with one another.

Open Source software products can be created, accessed and improved publicly and developers can contribute to the Open Source project from anywhere in the world.

GitHub can be used as a resume as it helps with visibility and reputation building for developers by allowing recruiters to view their interesting projects when applying for job opportunities.

Minpunten

The intial learning curve can be tricky for new users. Onboarding requires a bit of detail and practise with regards to cloning repositories, creating a fork/ branch, pushing changes to code and raising pull requests when getting started, but once this process is well understood, the product is easy to use.

Overwogen alternatieven

Slack

Redenen om over te stappen op GitHub

GitHub is more widely preferred and used by software developers globally, uses less bandwidth and provides visibility of projects for future version improvements and for recruitment.
Elian
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Github Review

Beoordeeld op 29/3/2022

My experience with Github has been awesome and it continues to be like so. Is very handy and I use it on my daily routine.

Pluspunten

I mostly like the ease of use and in the same time the big hand that Github gives me and my colleagues every day to
accomplish our daily tasks and be coordinated with each other.

Minpunten

To be honest I think that Github is the best code hosting platform and is very hard to find any disadvantage. I use it every day and I am happy.

Overwogen alternatieven

Jira en ClickUp

Redenen om voor GitHub te kiezen

Bitbucket was inly focused in versioning and code hosting and did not provide all those functionalities that Github offers.

Overgestapt van

Bitbucket

Redenen om over te stappen op GitHub

Ease of use and the possibility to do a lot of things like project management, task planning, versioning, collaboration, review etc.
emil
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Marketing en reclame
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Wekelijks 1+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

An assortment of undertakings for associating with GitHub

Beoordeeld op 23/3/2022

We have proactively expounded a lot on the way that to track down a solid engineer, normal obtaining assets are not exceptionally supportive: top designers don't look effectively for new positions and don't utilize ordinary work sheets or LinkedIn. You should utilize specific destinations to track down top tech ability. So how might one track down a designer nowadays?

Programming engineers can be found on the stages where the IT people group shares coding tips, works together and gains from one another.

Pluspunten

Administrator takes your code and changes it into a powerful, dispersed pipeline. You can keep on utilizing your current devices, dialects, foundation, and contents.

Official forms a rich DAG structure, however such that regards positive designing and doesn't repress it. You can utilize Prefect's useful API to change scripts with insignificant snares; or you can get to the conceded computational diagram straightforwardly; or any blend thereof. It depends on you.

Minpunten

GitHub is dead-easy to use in the fundamental list of capabilities. The arrangement is negligible and all forming observes guidelines and so forth We had no issues setting up access for different clients and when private archives opened up even in the complementary plan it was an easy decision.

Githubs Actions region large assistance - when set up appropriately and can assist with computerizing errands like sending more than a few servers. It is an exceptionally useful asset, however perhaps more convoluted to arrangement then in other comparative products.

Dandre
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Rechtspraktijk
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 501-1.000 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Essential to every developer

Beoordeeld op 10/3/2022

Overall great experience, for bot myself and my team.

Pluspunten

Github is secure, promotes collaboration and is free for the most part. The core features of git is free and for further more "niche" features you can get enterprise. Github is great to go and check how you dependencies work in projects that you use and to see anything from issues to versions related to the source code

Minpunten

One (I want to say annoying) thing is that all the repositories is stored in one place. I would love to just be able to separate personal projects with fun projects and shared projects with the use of a folder structure.
Also difficult to get a hold of GitHub documentation, i found myself learning trough Youtube videos instead of practicing from a document page (I am sure there is but i could not find it)

Overwogen alternatieven

Azure DevOps Services

Redenen om voor GitHub te kiezen

Licenses are expensive and limits the number of members in our team.

Overgestapt van

Azure DevOps Services

Redenen om over te stappen op GitHub

Free to use. Secure and popular.
Jakub
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Design en ontwerp
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

Github Action solves automation issues

Beoordeeld op 4/3/2022

Generally it is ok. The usage is simple. Connection 3rd party apps to GitHub works well but not out of the box. Sometimes there was an encoding issue when using 3rd party apps to push changes - but they were probably client issues rather then GitHubs.

Pluspunten

GitHub is dead-simple to use in the basic feature set. The setup is minimal and all versioning follows standards etc. We had no issues setting up access for other users and once private repositories became available even in the free tier it was a no-brainer.
Githubs Actions area big help - when set up properly and can help automate tasks such as deployment over several servers. It is a very powerful tool, but maybe more complicated to setup then in other similar produts.

Minpunten

The product management additions seemed as a good idea first, but rendered unusable (for us) since it people (devs) tend to use one app for versioning in command line and other apps for tracking and reporting. Comically joining them was not well received.
The GitHub desktop app can cause authentification issues for non experienced users.

Overwogen alternatieven

GitLab en Bitbucket

Redenen om voor GitHub te kiezen

GitHub seems to be used by a broader userbase. We wanted to fit in easier. Plus the private repos became available in free tier. Until then BitBucket was the better choice. GitHub actions help a lot in CI/CD.

Overgestapt van

Bitbucket

Redenen om over te stappen op GitHub

Userbase and pricing (can be free) for organizations.
Charles Boampong
Totaalscore
  • Sector: E-learning
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 6-12 maanden lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

The best project management tool for software developers.

Beoordeeld op 26/2/2022

We're currently building an advanced Learner Management System and the workflow and collaboration via GitHub is so rewarding.

Pluspunten

Our team of web developers live in different geographical locations but GitHub offers us the best environment to meet, collaborate and manage projects. It offers modern tools that help developers to work remotely and yet be more effective and productive than if they were to work in one physical location. It is the number 1 platform that I'd recommend for every web/software developer.
The ability to track all the changes you make during the lifecycle of any project and it's flexibility to allow other team members to make their contributions to the project is so cool.

Minpunten

Not any that's affecting our projects yet.

Overwogen alternatieven

GitLab

Redenen om voor GitHub te kiezen

Someone recommended GitHub to us because of the few hitches that we were experiencing that time.

Overgestapt van

Bitbucket

Redenen om over te stappen op GitHub

It appeared to have more positive reviews.
Masoud
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Detailhandel
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Secure, innovative and feature rich, a competitor to all other providers

Beoordeeld op 22/2/2022

I cannot imagine working without GitHub, to be honest. I appreciate that there are many other alternatives these days but GitHub to me is the industry standard that makes developer jobs a lot easier and manageable.

Pluspunten

When you think about source code management you'd think of GitHub straight away. The security is taken seriously on GitHub and the CLI has made using it super simple and convenient from the comfort of your terminal. The offering of integrations with different DevOps tools is a must-have these days that you'd get out of the box with GitHub. Another important factor that makes GitHub stand out is its reliability which in the entire time that I've used it has always been available and has never been down.
GitHub has not stopped innovating new features and improving their services after all these years and it's amazing to see that they offer a new feature frequently.

Minpunten

I'd love to see a feature-rich mobile app from GitHub to allow managing the repositories easier and more practical on small screen devices.

Overwogen alternatieven

GitLab en Bitbucket

Redenen om over te stappen op GitHub

I believe GitHub is more reputable between developers and more reliable compared to other competitors.
Amitava
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Goto Source control for software developers

Beoordeeld op 16/2/2022

Pluspunten

I've been using GitHub for more than 10 years. It is the goto hosted Git service for my personal and enterprise SCM platform. It has pretty much everything you need for software development starting from source code management to issue tracking, project management, build tools (Actions) and online code editor. I also use GitHub CoPilot which is great productivity tool saving at least 30% of my development time every day.

Minpunten

There are no complains really! I love everything about GitHub.

Overwogen alternatieven

GitLab en Bitbucket

Redenen om voor GitHub te kiezen

I find GitHub much better product, better offerings in terms of features and user experience.

Overgestapt van

GitLab en Bitbucket

Redenen om over te stappen op GitHub

Better offerings, free plan is less limiting and better and faster UI.
Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Publiceren
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 51-200 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

GitHub - the industry standard but could use some interface help

Beoordeeld op 2/2/2022

Overall it's made our work so much easier I can't even explain. Back when we used Subversion for code management, version control was a total disaster. Now we use Git and GH for managing our entirely cloud-based infrastructure, and it's a dream. Git works smoothly with GH, and GH makes our code available wherever we need it: AWS, Slack, wherever. GH is kind of like putting your code on wireless headphones -- now you can walk around wherever you need it, and it's there with you.

Pluspunten

GitHub is the industry default for code management with Git. If you use Git, you probably already know and use GitHub to keep your various repos safe and in the cloud. It integrates with absolutely every DevOps tool and system under the sun. And probably also the text editor you are working in. And probably also the communication tool you are using -- Jira, Slack, whatever. All of them talk to GitHub. Its help pages are the best in the business too. And it seemingly never goes down. We depend on it the way we depend upon electricity being in the wall socket.

Minpunten

Unfortunately, the UI on GitHub is far from ideal. I use GH every single day, yet I still often find myself struggling to figure out where to find what I KNOW is in there. The Go to File button -- not sure why that is always hard to find. How to pull up a list of all the commits for a particular branch? Why is it that tiny little 'commits' button? It's like there are 3 or 4 different subnavs on the site -- each of which has its own logic, but it's not intuitive which one you should be looking at to figure out what you're supposed to be clicking on. It feels like somebody with real UI chops could figure out how to help GitHub take all the awesome features they have unleashed and put them into a more sensible layout. I hate feeling stupid, yet I often do when looking to find something in GH.

Overwogen alternatieven

GitLab en Bitbucket

Redenen om voor GitHub te kiezen

Once we moved to Git, it was obvious that GitHub was the place to be. Back in those days it was the only real option.

Overgestapt van

Apache Subversion

Redenen om over te stappen op GitHub

It felt (and still feels) like these other products are aimed at niche markets that have very particular needs. What we want is something that is powerful, simple, just works, and can integrate wherever we want it. GitHub has solved that for us since day one.
Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Hoger onderwijs
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 10.000+ werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

If home is where your code is, Github is my home

Beoordeeld op 28/1/2022

I have used GitHub personally and professionally for over a decade. I use it primarily for work, but I have also used it to contribute to open source projects in my free time. I have found many amazing projects that I use regularly in my work and in my programming related hobbies.

Pluspunten

Git hub gives you options to manage your code. I like that I can use the command line to interact with git, but I can also use the GitHub desktop application, or the plugin for my IDE of choice: Atom, or the plugin for my colleagues' IDE of choice: VS Code, or any number of other apps.
The pull request merge workflow is also wonderful in that it allows code inspection and comparison.
Minor edits can even be made on the GitHub website and will become part of the regular git history.
GitHub actions allow us to do things like run unit tests and check a test build before approving code for merging to the main branch.
My absolute favorite part about GitHub is that it allows me to collaborate and contribute to projects that are not directly under my organization's control, but part of the open source community.

Minpunten

Honestly, there is not much I dislike about GitHub. My biggest complaints about it are more related to the choices my organization has made around using GitHub. I would like to use GitHub for issue tracking and project management, but we have contracts with other paid tools that offer roughly the same functionality.

If I had one request for a better user experience it would be to improve the quality and capability to search for code within a specific repository. The feature exists, but it feels primitive and very basic. I want to be able to search through version history and have better search matches (instead of fuzzy matches). Better search tools would make GitHub even more useful.

Luis Carlos
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Informatietechnologie en -diensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

I can't see myself working without it

Beoordeeld op 13/12/2021

I've used GitHub for more than 8 years now. It is my old reliable tool for source control and almost anyone that uses it will probably have the same opinion.

Pluspunten

GitHub is probably the single most important tool in our development team. Everything you can think about source control tools it does it and does it well. We have a lot of integrations hooked to it, so it also helps us with more than source control. Besides of that, it is easy to use and being almost universal at this point it means we usually don't have to train new developers on how to use it.

Minpunten

Nitpicking here, but the mobile version might improve a bit. I know code review is something you usually don't do on a phone, but some emergency happens from time to time and you just need to approve / request something and those little interactions could be easier. Still, that's the only thing and it is incredibly far from being a deal breaker.

Overwogen alternatieven

GitLab en Bitbucket

Redenen om over te stappen op GitHub

GitHub is easier to deploy across the organization. Plus, almost everybody already knows how to use it, so it saves a lot of time on adapting to it.
Fayeba
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Mediaproductie
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

The best source controller

Beoordeeld op 20/11/2021

We use Github to keep up with our private stage code storehouses, that our group utilizes, just as our open source repos to fabricate the local area, which is a main consideration for us picking Github. In contrast to different contenders, Github has zeroed in on its center contribution of source code the executives and simple joint effort, and along these lines, stayed away from superfluous stage weight. For groups where keeping awake to date with the open source world is a need or a benefit, Github is undoubtedly awesome, given moving issues and repos are incredibly instructive. Local area support is likewise much better with Github

Pluspunten

Commonality is the principal word that rings a bell, for a little, quick yield group. We needed to zero in on conveyance, not the cycle and Github gave what we really wanted - source code the board, cooperation, project the executives the most straightforward, and the least expensive. While its rivals like Bitbucket have tried to focus on the undertaking business sector and spotlight for enormous scope corporate tasks, Github is significantly more little group amicable as there's no additional stuff of sorting out the stage, and rather, we can simply zero in on doing what we came to do. Github activities fit our assemble needs genuinely well, and coordination with arrangements like Netlify for CI-CD was a breeze. Venture the executives is basic and simple. The open source well disposed guideline helps in simple admittance to new and coming code content lined up with our inclinations to investigate and use in our own applications and items, something that needs other SCM items

Minpunten

A reliable documentation framework like Confluence would be truly useful. As groups develop bigger, they shift to elective arrangements since Github needs more usefulness to oversee assignments and code across the bigger group, which can be changed by getting highlights and working on existing ones. Incorporation backing can be extended rather than keeping it restricted to inhouse items.