GitLab

Volledig DevOps levenscyclusbeheer

Totaalscore

4,6 /5
(975)
Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
4,5/5
Functies
4,6/5
Gebruiksgemak
4,4/5
Klantenondersteuning
4,2/5

96%
heeft deze app aanbevolen
Sorteren op

975 reviews

Brad
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Detailhandel
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 1.001-5.000 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 1+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

GitLab is a must for development teams

Beoordeeld op 10/7/2020

Pluspunten

I love the Boards for tracking Issues in their life cycle. Customizable Columns and Labels make it quick and easy to see where an Issue is, giving a high level for management and the rest of the team, while having all the details and attached code branches and merge requests for the developer and stakeholders. I love how it's able to connect code from several projects to Issues, no matter where they live, so you can have as many boards and projects as you like! It's well put together and seems natural with everything I try to do organization-wise. Integrates really well with developers' workflows.

Minpunten

GitLab is always improving and enables you to request features, so if you want something, suggest it and they'll get to it! Sometimes that's a bit slow, but you can usually work around it.

Lilantha
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Informatietechnologie en -diensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 201-500 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 6-12 maanden lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

GitLab Review

Beoordeeld op 26/9/2019

GitLab resolved our version controlling problems, code review problems. It helps to maintain our code standards very easily. We can setup It on our local server also very easily. It is free anyone can try it.

Pluspunten

GitLab is a superb source code managemanet provide. It is free. We can install it in our privet server also. As well as we can use their server with a free account. We use git for version control. GitLab provides awesome support for version control. It is a very easy tool. Anyone can use it very easily If someone has no more knowledge about versioning but He can use GitLab very easy. We can maintain our Repositories/Branchers. User access level also there. Currently, We use GitLab. We maintain feature branches, dev branch, and master branch. Everyone does not allow to merge code to the dev branch. If someone add merge request to the dev branch, our one-person review code and merge. Then we use GitLab it is easy for us. GitLab provides superb dashboard it very easy to review code. It shows all code changes with file by file. Easy to compare. As well as we can compare two branches vary easy. It provides a clear, unique, user-friendly dashboard. GitLab also supports CI/CD process. It's superb we can recommend for anyone. If our commit has some conflict it shows how to resolve that step by step.

Minpunten

When I add a new commit. If the file is large/have many lines. It not showing code changes directly. It shows a message file has many lines cannot show changes that kind of message. Sometimes when we compare two commits. It not more clear. Some times confusing. If I show some file history only show commits. not showing code changes by commits. We want to go and check every commits to show changes.

Overwogen alternatieven

GitHub en Bitbucket

Redenen om over te stappen op GitLab

It's free. We can setup on our local servers. It provides an easy, powerful, clear, and userfriendly dashboard. Its same thing wants for version control. Its there on GitLab.
Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Financiële dienstverlening
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 201-500 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Conveniently, my favorite repository.

Beoordeeld op 25/4/2023

Using GitLab has given my team access to a diverse array of collaboration tools that span issue tracking, code reviews, test building, time tracking, and more. By leveraging these tools, we've been able to improve communication throughout our projects. One of the greatest benefits of GitLab, however, is the broad, real-time visibility it provides for our projects. With this visibility, we can easily identify bottlenecks and make data-driven decisions that help us stay on track and meet our project goals.

Pluspunten

One of the things I admire most about GitLab is its open-source nature, which means that a vast community of users is constantly working to expand the platform's capabilities and use cases. I am particularly impressed with GitLab's robust branching and merging capabilities, which enhance its version control protocol and make it easy to manage even the most complex codebases by providing access to all versions of our codebase.

Minpunten

When working with large codebases on GitLab with multiple collaborators, it's not uncommon to experience slower load times and sluggish navigation. Additionally, while GitLab offers a range of integrations with third-party tools and services, there is certainly room for improvement in this area.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Informatietechnologie en -diensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 8.0 /10

Source control is made easy with gitlab

Beoordeeld op 22/10/2019

We need to control our source code. We need to know exactly who has changed what line of code at what point. And git, nice though it is, needs a GUI. Gitlab provides us that GUI.

Pluspunten

The software is stable.
Updates come out regularly.
SSO integration with our AD is very nice.

Minpunten

We are using gitlab not only for our source code, but also to control the configuration of all of our servers and firewalls. It would be nice if we could schedule scripts on gitlab to run automatically. We are now 'abusing' the pipelines for this purpose.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Informatietechnologie en -diensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Wekelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 6.0 /10

Useful but certainly on the expensive end

Beoordeeld op 18/2/2023

Overall, I would recommend this to those willing to pay as it is hassle free and make one's life easier. But there are certainly cheaper alternatives.

Pluspunten

It is very user friendly and has incorporated a large number of additional features beyond git control. The wiki function is pretty useful in particular as we could draft documentation within the same space

Minpunten

It is very expensive compared to other git provider. Github is certainly catching up with the investments Microsoft is making on the various new features.

Overwogen alternatieven

GitHub

Redenen om over te stappen op GitLab

It was not really a conscious decision. We just started with GitLab and have stuck with it ever since as the whole team is familiar with it now.
pathmika
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 201-500 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

Gitlab is my everyday using software

Beoordeeld op 28/4/2023

I started using gitlab since 2015 and still it is my most favorite git repository manager. I would love to recommend it to anyone.

Pluspunten

Gitlab is a good choice for companies that look for an solution to manage software development processes. We can do continuous integration, continuous deployment, code review, version controlling functions and other third party tools integration like AWS and jira. Gitlab provides security features like two factor authentication, secure connection and access limitations.

Minpunten

I think user interfaces can be improved when I compared with other version controlling systems.

sapnaka
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 201-500 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

Web portal to manage git

Beoordeeld op 16/5/2023

This has been my version control collaboration tool for past 5 years and I should say that my experience of using this is really amazing.

Pluspunten

I have started using this when I was an undergraduate and I'm still using this in my IT company too. I can create repositories, projects, branches and can manage the source code there. I can review someone elses' code and add comments and merge it once the code fixes are done. It allows to automate the pipeline with the help of integrating other tools.

Minpunten

I haven't face any issue using gitlab so far.

Praeveen
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Good Version Control software

Beoordeeld op 8/4/2023

Pluspunten

Makes it easy to search for commits and also manage the evolution of the code base as the code progresses. It also makes it easier to search for files and also switch between branches to view the files at different branches.

Minpunten

Nothing much to complain about. I would say maybe make it easier to configure build variables but even that is not too difficult

hasmie
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 201-500 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 1+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

My one and only tool to manage source code

Beoordeeld op 6/5/2023

I use this everyday to manage git repositories and this saves my time a lot.

Pluspunten

I use this to create branches, projects and repositories, merge the code, review the code and add comments after reviewing and document the code. It is a very powerful tool and we can automate the process of code build, testing an deployment.

Minpunten

So far, I haven't faced any issue using this.

Danish
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Design en ontwerp
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 1.001-5.000 werknemers
  • Wekelijks 6-12 maanden lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

GitLab Is the DevOps Community's Go-To Tool

Beoordeeld op 25/3/2023

I recommend GitLab as a comprehensive solution for your DevOps team. From initial strategy to ongoing monitoring, the platform supports your whole DevOps lifecycle management needs. The user-friendliness and simplicity of the UI are major selling points, as are the automated features for continuous integration and deployment.

Pluspunten

GitLab has been instrumental in revolutionizing our business. The unified tool encompasses the entire cycle of creation, testing, and releasing. The fact that GitLab can be used for every stage of the DevOps lifecycle, from preparation to monitoring, is a huge plus in my book.

Minpunten

The GitLab documentation is one area for development. Despite the intuitive design of the UI, we occasionally have trouble tracking out details about how to use certain features.

Edward
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 51-200 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Git Awesome

Beoordeeld op 8/7/2020

It is such a great system. We use it daily at work and I integrated it into my homelab as well to keep change controls and ci/cd under control. It has made my homelab crazy efficient when I need to do things. For work it makes our daily tasks very easy to manage and it's much more integrated than having to build out all of the atlassian stack.

Pluspunten

This product is excellent and has both enterprise edition and community edition making it very inexpensive to get into and then moving to enterprise once setup and still very inexpensive compared to other options out there. You also can set up a private gitlab server either in docker or bare metal. I cannot rave enough about git lab.

Minpunten

There's not much to not like about it. It's a very capable system that can be deployed in every type of way imaginable. If I was to nitpick then I would say adding additional users can be a pain without having self registration available.

Overwogen alternatieven

Jira, Bitbucket en Confluence

Redenen om over te stappen op GitLab

We utilize them side by side for different tasks. Our atlassian stack is used for more dev purposes as that team is more comfortable with it as opposed to gitlab where our infrastructure team utilizes it.
Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Marketing en reclame
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 51-200 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

A discrete item in your toolkit

Beoordeeld op 10/3/2020

It is easy to use and don't impose itself it's own way to proceed.

At some point gitlab.com had big performances issues, it was very slow. Even posting a simple issue was a pain. Those issues got fixed and it is now very fast. In case of maintenance or temporary issues, they have a very transparent way of proceeding and we always receive alerts and/or post mortems.

Pluspunten

You just forget about Gitlab. As it provide a whole devops toolkit, it integrates discretely in your workflow. It doesn't require training, and if needed for advanced use, it got an extensive documentation as any open source tool should have. The UI makes it easy to use without thinking about it. What you don't understand first, you'll find an usage if needed on day.

The fact it got integrated CI/CD is incredible. I am very reluctant to Docker technologies and wouldn't beat myself to deal with them, but I really like them the way they are integrated in the CI/CD: it makes possible to test the applications in a very efficient and simple maneer and improve the overall quality and security of my products.

Minpunten

What I really don't like is that, if it is possible do deactivate some feature of a repository because you don't use them, there are some that overload the UI and you cannot remove them because Gitlab use it as a way to make you upgrade to the next plan.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Informatietechnologie en -diensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 10.000+ werknemers
  • Dagelijks 6-12 maanden lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 8.0 /10

The All-in-One orchestration tool for CICD

Beoordeeld op 11/2/2021

Overall, I am very pleased with the GitLab experience since it provides a single stop window for developers and admins

Pluspunten

GitLab provides all-in-one capability for developers to do Source Code Management, CI/CD automation, Security and coding standards checks. Earlier we used to have separate tools for each of the above functions, but moving to Gitlab we now have a single stop-shop for all our Application Development and Automation needs. I see many other companies are trying to follow the gitlab methodology but gitlab is way ahead of the competetion.

Minpunten

Project and Portfolio management can still have improvements to provide Roadmap and Grantt views in future versions

Overwogen alternatieven

GitHub

Redenen om voor GitLab te kiezen

Moving to a single stop window instead of disparate tools

Overgestapt van

Jenkins en Bitbucket

Redenen om over te stappen op GitLab

GitHub has just started GitHub actions and will take at least a year to provide similar capabilities
Olivier
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 51-200 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

A serious contender in the Self Host GIT space

Beoordeeld op 20/12/2022

It's really nice to have it, and the fact they were the first to allow for free private repositories is a nice gesture

Pluspunten

For us, it was crucial to be able to self host an instance to have it totally off grid and Gitlab delivered beautifully

Minpunten

A bit obscure to setup, and updates can be quite time consuming as we cannot do them as often as would be required by the project

Overwogen alternatieven

GitHub

Redenen om voor GitLab te kiezen

GIT has a much better workflow for managing branches

Redenen om over te stappen op GitLab

Self hosting was key
Matthew
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Milieudiensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 1+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 7.0 /10

An incredibly useful tool for version control and CI/CD

Beoordeeld op 16/9/2019

Having migrated a number of Subversion repositories to GitLab, its extended functionality compared to the more simplistic approach of SVN has undoubtedly saved a significant amount of time.

Pluspunten

GitLab comes packed with a number of helpful facilities for managing continuous integration/deployment tasks. The option to self-host a GitLab instance is also appreciated.

Minpunten

Comes with something of a learning curve and can take a while to fully introduce non-technical users to its functionality.

Overwogen alternatieven

GitHub

Redenen om voor GitLab te kiezen

Need for extended functionality, CI/CD support.

Redenen om over te stappen op GitLab

CI/CD functionality.
Matej
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 6-12 maanden lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 6.0 /10

Version control for private companies

Beoordeeld op 20/6/2021

I find the interface a bit complex, but once I got my hands on it, I got used to it and I simply prefer it over Github.

Pluspunten

The software includes version control, container storage, issue tracker, grouping and goals. All of these provides great experience for a developer.

Minpunten

I don't like the interface, it looks too professional. Something more playful would be highly appreceated.

Overwogen alternatieven

GitHub

Redenen om voor GitLab te kiezen

We needed to switch to private from open-source and Gitlab provided better pricing for the same functionality.

Overgestapt van

GitHub

Redenen om over te stappen op GitLab

Gitlab is more focused on private companies, meanwhile, Github prefers open-source, in my opinion.
Wassim
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Financiële dienstverlening
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 51-200 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 8.0 /10

More than code management product

Beoordeeld op 9/1/2020

It is been a great experience so far and it helped us automate most of our software deployment processes.

Pluspunten

The reason we switched to Gitlab is that we found that it offers more than any other git SAAS product in the market and it wasn't just a code repository. They have CI/CD for automation and automated Artifacts.

Minpunten

1. Stability of the product was not the best, we had frequent hiccups where the pipelines runners were down or other parts of the system.
2. Pricing plans are pretty steep so it is 4x whenever you move to the next plan.

Piotr
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 51-200 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 1+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

Best git management tool on the market

Beoordeeld op 24/8/2022

I was using GitLab for a year and a half and I have to admit that it was the best git management tool I ever used. Everything that is needed by the user is already built-in. CI/CD is handled brilliantly and can be quickly set up without a lot of training before. The whole app is intuitive and easy to use (especially if a user has some experience with similar apps). Documentation is big and contains not only facts but also examples, which allows saving a lot of time during debugging or introducing new functionalities. GitLab is well known around the internet, so community support is also good. If a user has some problem, it is probably resolved inside documentation or in one of the web forums. The flexibility of GitLab is huge. It can be easily adjusted to a company's needs without any problems. Processes may be set up differently in various projects and integration between them is almost seamless.
On the other hand, the price per user is quite high, especially on better plans, so GitLab can quickly become expensive in bigger companies. The second disadvantage is that some less-known tools cannot be integrated with the app. However, the list is being extended and devs are listening to a community so the more some app integration is needed, the more likely it is.
In my opinion, GitLab is the best git management tool I ever used - particularly because of CI/CD. If you can afford the price, it is worth it!

Pluspunten

A huge number of features.
Intuitive and easy to use.
Extensive documentation and good customer service.
Flexibility of customization.

Minpunten

It can become expensive, particularly if the company has many users.
Some less-known external tools cannot be integrated.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 1+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Great platform to host your project!

Beoordeeld op 12/12/2019

Overall, GitLab is a good for development. Most commonly used features such as MR and code review work very well on GitLab. The best feature on GitLab is CI/CD, it has everything you need to build an automated pipeline, from build agents to container registry.
However, the exploration feature is not as robust as other services and there is still a lot of rooms for improvement.

Pluspunten

GitLab CI is great. The GitLab CI/CD language allows us to build complex pipelines easily, pipeline's configs are stored in the repository as well, so we can manage everything in one place. GitLab also has built-in Docker registry. We have both our build pipeline and our images hosted on GitLab.
The pricing is also flexible, I recommend it for both startup and large enterprises.

Minpunten

Explore Projects feature can be better, it would be more useful if we have a filter to select projects by technologies.
Should support templates on the job level, so it can be reused between multiple environments.
Lack of integration: there are not many 3rd party services that integrate with GitLab for now.

Overwogen alternatieven

GitHub en Bitbucket

Redenen om voor GitLab te kiezen

Better CI/CD

Overgestapt van

Bitbucket

Redenen om over te stappen op GitLab

Better CI/CD
Prince
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Telecommunicatie
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 10.000+ werknemers
  • Dagelijks 1+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

GitLab - The Forefront of Source Control which Helps You Move Forward

Beoordeeld op 7/10/2022

Overall, GitLab has been a really solid addition to our workspace. It allows us to collaborate much easier and gives us the opportunity to add tests and validations in our pipelines so that whenever code is deployed, it can be checked for quality assurance and take the appropriate actions based on the results. The amount of features GitLab is packed with, it may be a while before I am able to learn it all but also be able to make use of it all. I will say this however is that whenever I do learn something new, it is often a welcomed change and either myself or my team is ecstatic and excited to not only implement the newly discovered feature, but also to reap the benefits of the sweet update or enhancement! Great job GitLab, cheers!

Pluspunten

GitLab does its best to help you with what you may need in order to promote quality code deployments with tools and resources to become a more collaborative team. With source control and hosting repositories as its primary objective, GitLab extends to its users an extensive suite of tools and controls to ensure only quality code is committed and only by those that is desired. With features like code reviews, pipeline validations, and allowing for integration of automated tests, its hard to imagine low quality or bug infested code to get through to your production or master code branches.

Minpunten

Honestly, its not easy to pick out cons of such a great tool in your arsenal. Given that so much goes so well once you've integrated everything properly, the only things that come to mind are more of a annoyance rather than an issue and coincidentally, they're all based on the UI or aspects that don't interfere with the workflow or the work itself. One of which is that GitLab does not offer a dark mode of its UI. Given we are developers and spend most of our time looking at computer screen, It would be lovely to be able to darken the UI so that its not so straining to our eyes. Secondly, we have split up our GitLab in to various teams where each of the teams have access to their own folders/repository. Unfortunately, whenever someone from ANY of these sub-repos is given access, opens a new merge request, or is making comments on a merge request, everyone gets an email about it. It can be very frustrating and I'm not really sure if this setting can be changed from a User level but I would really love it if they can.

Arzu
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

Easy to use, comprehensive, open-source tool for project management

Beoordeeld op 23/4/2022

We have set up and customized GitLab on our own servers in order to manage a project where digital marketing, software, devops, human resources and many teams work together. This really relieved us of a great burden. Everyone's own project management area on GitLab was clear, besides, the issues and projects that they needed to work on were also very clear. We can follow many processes such as product development, project management, task tracking in a sustainable way. It also serves as a great archive for people who join the team later.

Pluspunten

GitLab is an easy to use and versatile project management tool. As a team, we use it not only for software development projects, but also for the follow-up of our other projects. It is really great that it is customizable, you can simplify your interface for your teammates who cannot use complex applications. This offers you a more user-friendly product.

Minpunten

It's a little harder for people other than engineers to adapt. You shouldn't expect traditional drag-and-drop kanban boards. It's a bit of a technical product. But if we consider that the intended use of the product, this is really normal, not a big minus.

Overwogen alternatieven

Jira

Overgestapt van

GitHub
Damian
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Informatietechnologie en -diensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

GitLab is the best for its CI

Beoordeeld op 10/6/2019

Pluspunten

GitLab CI is by far the most valuable feature of GitLab. Travis CI was the first one to offer a YAML-file based build system - but it's GitLab CI to make pipelines very flexible and expressive. While Travis was okay for most popular languages in open source projects. GitLab made it possible to run enterprise-grade pipelines with many stages, each having multiple simultaneous jobs. This, plus git repository, Docker registry, and several other tools, making it a complete solution - starting from an early development cycle, through build, to deployment and monitoring thereof.

Minpunten

Several pages perform bad, e.g. pipelines list in big projects. Some pages don't have search and sorting. These are minor issues though.

Overwogen alternatieven

GitHub

Redenen om voor GitLab te kiezen

Lack of proper, tightly-integrated CI.

Overgestapt van

GitHub
Yurie Katri
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Telecommunicatie
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 10.000+ werknemers
  • Dagelijks 1+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

A perfect place for program management

Beoordeeld op 1/10/2022

Safe to use as SaaS. Easy to build even on-premises, but the SaaS version can be used with peace of mind thanks to strong security measures. Obtaining ISO/IEC 27001: 2013 certification, can be used with greater peace of mind, making it easier to approve the internal introduction request. If you are confident in the security, you can operate free of charge by creating a local server. When creating the request form to send to the internal IT department when submitting the SaaS version, there were some unclear points about security management in GitLab, but GitLab support took the trouble to conduct a remote meeting and was able to resolve all doubts.

Pluspunten

The source code can be managed anywhere as long as you are connected to the Internet. The editor also supports Once editing is finished, you can manage versions by connecting to the Internet and clicking, so you do not need to be connected to the Internet all the time. The source code editing software also supports this, so you can manage it with GUI button operation.

Minpunten

There is issue management, but there is no task management feature. Therefore, we are forced to handle GitLab + Redmine. If you have a task management feature, you can consolidate with this, and work efficiency will increase.

Colin
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Gezondheid, wellness en fitness
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: Zelfstandig ondernemer
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

A Comprehensive and Versatile Git Management Tool

Beoordeeld op 15/2/2023

Overall, GitLab is an excellent Git management tool that provides a comprehensive set of features for developers. Its user-friendly interface, extensive documentation, and strong community make it an ideal choice for teams of any size. While the learning curve may be steep for beginners, the effort is well worth it for the powerful tools and benefits provided by GitLab.

Pluspunten

I have used GitLab extensively for several projects, and I must say that it is one of the best Git management tools available in the market. GitLab is an open-source, web-based Git repository manager that offers a wide range of features that make it an ideal choice for software developers.What I liked most about using GitLab is its comprehensive set of features. From managing repositories and branches to automated testing and deployment, GitLab has everything a developer needs to manage their Git workflow in one place. The platform provides features like continuous integration, code review, issue tracking, and project management, making it a complete DevOps solution.The user interface of GitLab is very intuitive, and it makes it easy to navigate and use the platform. The platform also has extensive documentation and a large community of users, which makes it easy to find solutions to any issues that may arise.

Minpunten

What I liked least about using GitLab is the steep learning curve for beginners. The platform is feature-rich, which can be overwhelming for new users. Additionally, the setup and configuration process can be time-consuming and may require some technical expertise.

Caleb
Totaalscore
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Fantastic git project management tool with good integrations

Beoordeeld op 9/2/2018

Pluspunten

Full suite of tools including but not limited to repository and issue tracking, milestones & issue boards, group and user management including project and even branch level permissions, continuous integration, scheduled jobs, project wiki, etc. All the features work together and using it to manage projects tends to pulls the details together rather than fragmenting them across different spaces.

The general workflow is similar enough to Github that most developers find it familiar. In fact there is probably feature parity or beyond, so other than needing another account there has never been much resistance to adoption among our developer team. At the same time the interface well designed enough for non developers to figure it out and stay involved as well.

Minpunten

The setup and update process is somewhat cumbersome on bare metal (probably easier using dedicated virtual machines and/or their omnibus package). There are a lot of dependencies and assumptions about the environment that make it much the most dreaded package to upgrade on my production servers.

It does kind of make assumptions about workflow that don't hold true for all projects. While it is flexible enough to adapt even when using only a subset of features on a project, it can leave people a little confused and overwhelmed because all the other unused bits are still around in the interface.